Megan De Witt: My Life is Simply Richer and Brighter

During my 15 months here so far I have met so many amazing people and learned so many new things. I have spent many months living in someone else’s house and although weird and strange at first I have found family thousands of miles away from home.
 
I have experienced my first Thanksgiving, Halloween, and 4th of July. As a kid I distinctly remember watching movies where people all spend days planning their 4th of July celebration or have huge family gatherings with a turkey that can’t possibly fit into an oven on Thanksgiving, actually being here to experience these things first hand is so extraordinary.
 
I have traveled to New York and seen the bright lights of Times Square, I’ve sat on the beaches in San Diego and went kayaking in the ocean, I walked the freedom trail in Boston and tried my very first Dunken Donut. I have spent weekends walking around Washington DC looking at the leaves changing color in fall and the flowers blooming in Spring. I experienced my first snow here last year and everything covered in white was the most magical thing I’ve ever seen. I stood in immensely long lines to get the greatest deals on the craziness that is the iconic Black Friday. I have pictures of each one of these days in my head and every time I recall them I smile and realize just how lucky I have
been.
 
 
Talking to my mom having her laugh at me because I now pronounce the word raspberry with an American accent and not a South African one anymore.

Spending months with my German friend and comparing how we grew up and how different things are now living in America. Basic things like her constant complaining about how sweet breakfast is here compared to back home or the fact that in Germany she used to eat dinner after 9pm.

 
All these things contribute to the experience of a lifetime that I have had here. Living and working in a new country teaches you so much respect and allows a certain appreciation for where you come from.
 
I am so happy that I have been able to see the “typical” American cities, I’ve sent my mom pictures and videos knowing she will probably never see it here for herself.
 
 
Knowing that you can even see a part of such a wonderful country is such a gift and I cherish every day I get to spend here, living in a country which has shown me love and kindness, people here who always smile and greet you regardless of whether they actually know you or not, and a program (Aupair program) that has allowed me to meet people from all over the world who were once strangers but whom I now call family.
This program has changed my way of thinking and opened my eyes to the beauty that surround us every day. Because of this program, I am more humble, less ignorant and forever eager to learn new things and embrace challenges that come my way.
 
The connections and memories I’ve made from this program cannot be put into words.  My life is simply richer and brighter for having spent these months here and I will never be able to express my full gratitude for all I have experienced here.
 
Thank you so much for this experience. Without this program, I could not possibly have made these memories that will last a lifetime.
 
Megan

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.